A return to Madrid for a….tinder meet up? Yes, it happened!

Tinder has come a long way from when it started back in 2012. It no longer seems to be a social taboo, but rather a social staple. If you’re single, chances of you having a tinder are probably very high. Likely 99% or more, let’s be honest here. Though people often tiptoe around the topic and still seem a bit embarrassed to admit they use it, it has definitely become a defining part of our generation and has changed the dating game big time!

IMG_6018
Cute bar in Malasana

I’ve had Tinder for a lonnnng time now but nowadays, I mainly reserve my tindering for when I am traveling solo. To be honest, it’s a great way to meet locals who know places you probably wouldnt’ve visited on your own.

IMG_5942
Nick and I at the famous bear statue in Madrid- I still don’t know why it’s famous

So what does this have to do with anything? Well, as I’d mentioned in another post, when I went to Scotland I met an Australian guy named Nick through Tinder who was living and working in Edinburgh. We kept in touch and he spontaneously asked if I wanted to meet up with him in Madrid one weekend. Like a lot of the decisions in my life, I impulsively agreed, and next thing you know we were in Madrid together. haha…..

IMG_6022
Streets of Madrid

Funny how that happens, isn’t it? I genuinely though I was just gonna enjoy a drink or two to avoid being lonely on my last night in Scotland. Never did I think that I would talk to him again, but he asked for my contact info and we kept in touch. So off to Madrid we went!

IMG_5952
A trip to Parque del Retiro is necessary on any visit to Madrid

And it was a short but weekend well spent. It was hist first time in Madrid, so we did a lot of the typical touristy stuff- Plaza Mayor, Parque del Retiro, Sol, el rastro market on Sunday and so on.

IMG_6013
Takos al pastor- the best Mexican tacos I’ve had abroad

I even convinced him to try churros con chocolate and Mexican food for the first time. Obviously I was dying to have tacos from Takos al Pastor so I made a beeline for them as soon as I could. He was a big fan of the food! I can’t say he loved the micheladas as much (beer cocktail with lime juice, hot sauce, tomato juice, etc.- so basically a Mexican bloody mary), but hey they can be a difficult sell!

IMG_6062
Frames and graffiti and El Rastro market in Madrid

Since it was a non holiday weekend, we had just two days in Madrid. So just like that it was over, and we were off to our respective homes. Honestly, strange but great weekend. I guess the lesson to be learned is to give tinder a chance if you haven’t already? haha….. this is not-sponsored, but I should probably be getting paid for this 😉 But in all seriousness, sometimes you just have to go with the flow because I’ve learned more and more that great things can happen!

Sinceramente, Gigi

Leave a Reply

